While At The Gym

About a year ago, I started going to the gym 3-4 times a week. This is the first time in my life that I have been dedicated to my body in a positive way rather than a negative way. Over the months, as my body changes and I become more aware of what I am capable of doing, I also noticed how the lessons in the gym carry over to lessons in life. The gym gives me time to not only focus on me, it gives me a chance to do some of my absolute best thinking. I have even suggested if I could brainstorm on the gym windows…sadly that idea didn’t grow legs; but truly I get some of my clearest moments while I am focusing on jumping jacks and lunges.

  • know your strengths
  • know how to balance
  • quantity over quality
  • be in competition with yourself
  • remember to breath
  • the work begins when you are uncomfortable
  • have a challenge buddy
  • make a commitment
  • focus on yourself
  • trust the larger process
  • the hardest part is starting
  • make it worth it

In life and gym, putting in the work is going to get you results.

Inspire Yourself!

Jenn

3 thoughts on “While At The Gym

  1. I like the “quantity over quality” because as a fellow creativity coach I find that people consider themselves procrastinators when they are really perfectionist that hold themselves back from exploring new paths, options and just playing with the creative process.

  2. Pingback: Zumba’d | design thinking me

Leave a comment